Homer Hoyt Doctoral Dissertation Award Competition

The American Real Estate and Urban Economics Association solicits submissions for the doctoral dissertation award competition sponsored by the Homer Hoyt Institute.

The deadline for submission is October 31, 2021. See the list of previous award winners.


Ph.D. dissertations completed during the 2020-2021 academic year are eligible for consideration. Dissertations must have been successfully defended between July 1, 2020 and June 30, 2021.

Eligible topic areas include all areas within the range of interest of Association members as exemplified by papers published in the Association journal, Real Estate Economics.

The Homer Hoyt Institute sponsors a cash award to AREUEA for distribution to the candidate(s) of the award winning dissertation.

Submission Requirements

Award Form details

  1. Sample of Your Research:
    -- Candidates must submit a sample of what they consider bests represents the quality of their research. This can include an essay or chapter from your dissertation depending on the dissertation style.

    -- The committee would like the best opportunity to evaluate the candidate’s individual work. Accordingly, if the submission involves an essay or chapter that is derived from a co-authored paper, the committee would like to receive a letter from the co-author(s) or PhD advisor that the candidate was the leading contributor to the study.

    -- DO NOT submit your entire dissertation.

  2. Letter from Advisor:
    -- A letter from your dissertation chair verifying the successful defense of your dissertation.

    -- The letter must also include a statement from your advisor verifying that the submitted work has been written by the Ph.D. student or that the Ph.D. student was the leading contributor, and that it is taken from the completed dissertation.

  3. Application Form & Package Delivery:
    -- Students must complete and return the application form with their submission package.

    -- The submission items should be compiled and saved as one PDF file and electronically submitted to the Association Coordinator of AREUEA, Shelley Riggs AND the Chair of the AREUEA Awards Committee, Siqi Zheng.

    -- DO NOT send hard copies of your documents to Shelley Riggs or the committee members.

    -- Submissions are to be electronic only

    -- All submissions must be received by Sunday, October 31, 2021, 11:59 pm Pacific Time Zone

    Applicant Expectations

    Students are expected to read and complete all three submission requirements listed above. Failing to follow the directions for submission could result in your submission being disqualified from consideration.

    Students are expected to attend the Annual Presidential Luncheon that is hosted during the AREUEA-ASSA Conference; held in January.

Committee Members

Dr. Siqi Zheng
Center for Real Estate
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Dr. Nathaniel Baum-Snow
Rotman School of Management
University of Toronto
Dr. Ruchi Singh
Department of Insurance
University of Georgia
Dr. Alex Van De Minne
School of Business
University of Connecticut
Dr. Jing Wu
Hang Lung Center for Real Estate
Tsinghua University


The winner(s) of the Doctoral Dissertation Award will be announced at the AREUEA-ASSA Conference, January 2022